Our Stories

Looking into the Past


What's Happening


August 7, 2017

Nain Brass Band CD Launch/Free Concert - Nain

August 9, 2017

Community Discussions on Media, Archives & Heritage - Hopedale

August 11, 2017

Community Discussions on Media, Archives & Heritage - North West River

Community Discussions on Media, Archives & Heritage - Happy Valley-Goose Bay


Tradition & Transition is governed by two bodies, each with equal representation from Nunatsiavut and academic partners. The Executive Board assures administrative and financial oversight, while the Project Management Committee offers direction to the principal investigator and staff, reviews individual research projects for approval, and assists in the planning of events, publications and productons. The Project Management Committee is structured to assure representation from all Nunatsiavut communities, youth and Elders, and across a range of research interests.

In addition to the governance structure, Transition & Transition has contracted the Inuit Qaujisarvingat (Inuit Knowledge Centre) at Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami to provide an arms-length evaluation of the partnership at strategic points on the project's timeline.

The current membership of the Tradition & Transition governing bodies includes:

Executive Board

Signing Officer, Nunatsiavut GovernmentIsabella Pain
Signing Officer, Memorial UniversityRay Gosine
Community Representative, Nunatsiavut
University Representative, MemorialTom Gordon
SecretaryAndrea Quigley

Project Management Committee

Co-chair, MemorialTom Gordon
Co-chair, NunatsiavutBelinda Webb
SecretaryAndrea Quigley
Members Lisa Rankin (Memorial, St. John's)
Valeri Pilgrim (Nunatsiavut, St. John's)
Michelle Davies (Memorial, Nain)
Silpa Suarak (Nunatsiavut, Nain)
Hans Rollmann (Memorial, St. John's)
Don Dicker, Sr (Nunatsiavut, Nain)
Jim Goudie (Nunatsiavut, Postville)
Heather Igloliorte (Concordia, Montreal)
Amy Prouty (Concordia, Montreal)
Jessica Winters (Nunatsiavut, Makkovik)
Beverly Hunter (Nunatsiavut, Hopedale)
Inez Shiwak (Nunatsiavut, Rigolet)


Principal Investigator Tom Gordon
Project CoordinatorAndrea Quigley
Social Media ManagerVick Allen